Top 10 Reasons Why I Can’t Finish My Books

January 8, 2013 at 2:47 pm | Posted in Honey Pony, The Real Housewives, Uncategorized | 12 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Last winter, I embarked on a potentially misguided journey to write and illustrate a series of Roundpen Standingchildren’s books about my pony, Honey. Before I adopted her, she had fallen into the wrong hands and suffered severe neglect. My idea was to create books for very young children that introduced the ideas of animal neglect and rescue in hopes that this would plant the seed for future adoptions of abused/shelter animals.

Well, this experience has left me frustrated, flummoxed, and (to quote Lisa Vanderpump) flabbergasted (say it with a British accent: “flah-buh-gahstud”). It’s not that it’s so hard to do, it’s just so hard to find the time to do it. My ideas flow like wine (but really, what doesn’t in this house?) and the words to three books are already written. But actually sitting down, pulling out the paints and creating – now that’s the hard part. It takes not only time, but creative energy. And I just don’t have much of that left after spending each day coming up with ever-more imaginative ways to keep two little boys entertained, enthralled and even-keeled.

So here, I humbly submit the Top 10 Reasons why I just can’t seem to finish illustrating even the first book in the series:

1)      I’m too busy writing this stupid blog.

2)      The pony has chronic diarrhea.  (Just try dealing with this during a freezing-cold New England winter. Frozen tail poopsicles anyone?)

3)      I have to re-heat my cup of tea for the 450th time today.  (No, I don’t know where I left it last, either, so I have to find it first, ok?)

4)      I’m checking my blog stats. Again.

5)      Somebody’s butt needs wiping.

6)      FaceBook.

7)      There’s a Real Housewives of Anywhere-on-Earth-That’s-Better-Than-Where-You-Live-and-Don’t-You-Forget-It marathon on Bravo.  (I cannot help it, I’m addicted.)

8)      That text message from my newly divorced girlfriend about whether or not the guy she thinks is cute thinks she’s cute and if maybe he’ll pass her a note in Algebra today.

9)      I have to blowdry my hair. And you know what that means. It means I actually have to take a shower first.

10)   I’m too busy writing this stupid blog.

Any suggestions on how I can get out of this funk and make these books happen would be greatly appreciated. Also, if anyone wants to come over and wipe the kids’/pony’s butt, that would be great, too. Thank you for your support.

xo

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great blog you’ve got here! I’ll be happy to help! 🙂

    I’d say write a list of things about Honey, and see if any ideas could come to you and see if you could include this in your book?

    Hope this helps! Please let me know if there’s anything else I can do to help! 🙂

    • Thank you! And thanks for reading – I very much appreciate the input. 🙂

      • You’re welcome! 🙂 I’m glad to see that you’re a fellow writer! 🙂

  2. #3 – Get one of those thermal cups like I gave Matt. My tea stays warm for hours and hours.

  3. Since the writing comes easy I’m betting this is the part you really love. Since the illustrating eludes you (in favor of the “real housewives”) maybe you don’t love that part so much. I know you’ve considered other options to doing the illustrations yourself. Maybe it’s time to reconsider?
    By the way, I have this plug in cup warmer that sits on your desk and looks like a coaster. Keeps my morning cup of coffee warm all morning at the office (otherwise I’d only get the first two sips while it was still hot). Let me know if I can get you one. 🙂 (ye olde fashioned emoticon)

    • I love the idea of a cup warmer, but there’s one little problem: my tea follows me all around the house all morning while I get the kids/cats/myself ready. I’d need about 20 of those things! Good idea, though, if I ever have a time where I am staying put (or at least my tea is) and can come back to a nice, warm cup. xoxo

  4. Ask your niece to try some illustrations!!!

  5. I have been here before myself,and actually I am there this morning as I comment on your post.To get myself back in the rhythm when I am writing a book ,designing or undertaking any creative project I set very small goals for one week , I mean really small,for example on Monday I will open the file on my computer before I go to bed so I can work on it Tuesday morning when I get up,or I will leave my trace paper on my desk on Wednesday and sketch for 10 minutes on Thursday. I think of it as creating protected time.Before I know it if I have only allowed myself 10 minutes a day, within a week I find my self wanting more until sometimes it s all I can think about.(Kind of like exercise)
    I think it is easy to get caught up on the end product and creative people need to realize if you are not getting the results in quality or production you may still be working on the project subconsciously and in our culture of immediate satisfaction we tend to not value results we cannot see, however thats often where we work out the best stuff.Enjoy the ride its as important as the book.

    • Well, this is by far the best advice I’ve gotten – thank you! I love the idea of breaking it down into very small tasks that can easily be accomplished. When I was writing marketing strategies for clients I used to hop out of bed at 5:30 a.m. and go right to my computer. It’s my best time of day and I could get so much done in a couple of hours of concentrated time. But now with my little boys at home, I’d have to start at 4:00 a.m. to get anything in before they get up, and that’s just not going to happen! Breaking it down into small, daily achievable goals could definitely work. Pull out all supplies and set-up one day, sketch a page the next day, paint just the background the following day, etc. I love it :).

      The other idea I have entertained is actually renting a small studio so I have a dedicated space and more drive to get working on it (i.e., I am paying for the space and want to make it worthwhile). What do you think of that idea??

  6. You seriously make me jealous! I want to be just like you when I grow up 😉


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

